Date night!

Who would have thought it?! Hubby and I actually had a dinner out; just the two of us! We have both spent a little time away from our daughter before (hubby mostly) but this was the first time we had been out together since she was born and it was really special.

We love our little unit and haven’t felt a desperate need for us to do something without our daughter. Especially since we do enjoy cuddling down on the sofa, with a TV show and popcorn in the evening which is our time together; just us. 

We were planning on going out for dinner to celebrate our second wedding anniversary when the idea of a date night popped into my head. I’m really pleased that I did. I was so excited by the idea of quality time with my husband. No worrying about trying to make conversation while being constantly distracted by crying, feeding etc. Time just for us.

It truly was a lovely evening. We went to a very small but beautiful restaurant we found not too long ago and just enjoyed each others company. I think we will need to start having the odd date night here and there because while our family unit is important, so is the foundation of our relationship and we need to give it time too. I am already looking forward to when we next get the opportunity!

Although I must admit, I did like receiving the updates from my mother on how they we’re getting on at home! 

Wife and mother, x

Leave a Reply

