Naps, wherefore art thou?

So apparently my daughter no longer seems to want to nap during the day. I feel this is a decision that she is not actually ready for and one that I am certainly not ready for!

Napping has never been her strong foot. From the beginning she fought sleep like a pro and I have had a battle on my hands. Some days even as a small infant, she would not sleep all day. Family would remark in amazement and let me assure you, it was not for lack of trying to get her down. Fast forward a little bit and we finally managed to get into a routine where there would be a morning nap and an afternoon nap. Neither for very long, we’re talking around about half an hour but it would get us through the day.

Around about her first birthday she dropped a nap. It switched between a morning or an afternoon nap for a while, until it eventually settled down to mornings. It was a longer nap, around about an hour sometimes an hour and a half. This was working very well! It gave her enough energy to make it through the afternoon but meant that she was still tired enough for bed in the evening.

Well that all changed just over a week ago! Suddenly she will just not sleep. We can spent an hour or so (at nap time), lying in a dim room with stories and mummies milk…and nothing! Bright as a button at the end of it! I have spent a couple of days continually trying throughout the day to put her down and yet still no sleep. A problem we’re facing is that the two days she has managed a nap, it has been at around about four pm. Not good. That’s far too late for a nap because then she doesn’t sleep until around about eight in the evening.

So to be honest, I have no clue what’s happening anymore. I wish I could get her to sleep at a good time as I can see she is tired! I wish I knew why she fights sleep so much. I worry that she is too young (just over one) to be going all day without a nap but I’m not sure what else to try!

Truly hoping that in a week from now I can say this was a blip and that she is napping well and is a happier bunny but I guess we will just have to wait and see. The bags under my eyes are definitely darker now too!

Wife and mother, x

3 thoughts on “Naps, wherefore art thou?

Leave a Reply

