Noodle our awesome poodle

​I often talk about how wonderful my daughter is and how wonderful my husband is but I must admit, I think I have the most wonderful dog in the world too!

Noodle has been from the beginning, a loving and gentle soul. He was such a playful puppy and to be honest, still is. Nearing 4 years old, he still loves nothing more than running around and playing with you. He will adore you even more if you bring out a ball. He definitely  has a ball addiction which while is not uncommon for a dog, I think is pretty cute.

He has been on my mind a lot because he has been really frustrating as of late. Yet another reason we think it was a chemical pregnancy because jumping all over me, is an understatement! He was like that when I was pregnant with our daughter too. Very excited all the time, wouldn’t leave me alone and unfortunately very frisky! Which is all fine and well until he tries to hump your child! We were not laughing! He has been neutered though, so goodness knows why this reaction happens. Anyway much like me, things have also settled down with him. It is so lovely to have the happy but calmer version of our dog back.

However, the reason I bring up how amazing I find him is for two reasons. 

Firstly he is awesome because he saved our daughter’s mitten! Tis the season for wrapping up warm and for children all over to be throwing hats, gloves, mittens etc out of the moving buggy without us realising until too late. Well she did just that the other day and I didn’t have a clue where her missing mitten was. A piece of a woolen set that we were just given from my sister! After searching for ages, I suddenly remembered I had Noodle with me. I gave him the other miten to smell, asked him to “go find” and off he went to the mittens rescue. He found it within minutes of me asking, super dog! I was so thankful!

Secondly he puts up with an awful lot from our daughter. She is (on the whole) gentle but lets face it, she is a one year old who doesn’t realise that pulling his hair might actually hurt him. Noodle adores her though and will take everything she throws at him (sometimes literally) in his stride. Just earlier today she was bouncing balloons off of him, which of course was not sore but definitely annoying…he just lay there, probably thinking what a funny little human she is. They love chasing each other around the room and he would lick her all day if he could. It is a very sweet bond. 

I guess I just don’t want to take his place in our family for granted and while his mood has been challenging recently, I could not imagine our life without him. He is one special little guy!

Wife and mother, x

Leave a Reply

