Too tired for ice cream?!

It’s been a long week or so with an ill child while my husband is away. I vaguely resemble some form of my normal self, I’m sure she’s in there somewhere but to be honest all I see is huge black bags under my eyes, questionable hair cleanliness and my ugly (but comfy) indoor clothes. 

Of course none of that really matters when your little one isn’t well, they are the priority but it has been a tough old week for us both. Thankfully things seem to be on the mend which is exactly what I need for my sanity. I’m one sleep deprived mama, so I’m excited that my sleep could start improving. 

I’ve been trying to convey just how tired I am to my husband when we have been on the phone but since I often exclaim tiredness (as most of us do) at the end of a day, I was struggling to explain just how bad it’s been. Well here it is…

I am too tired to eat ice cream.

Now we aren’t a family that normally has sweet treats in the house as we generally try and live a sugar reduced lifestyle. We do however allow some treats here and there because well…why not?! Moderation is key. So the one trip I managed to the supermarket to buy some essentials this week, I also purchased a tub of ice cream. Ice cream that I had been craving in my exhausted state. Knowing just how delicious it would be, curled up on the sofa after a long day, before the long night ahead.

Well I bought that ice cream 6 days ago…and has it made it out of the freezer?! No! 

I am far too exhausted to even contemplate getting that ice cream tub out of the freezer. No matter how badly I’m craving it, it has nothing on bed (sorry ice cream). In fact, her bedtime has become my bedtime too as I literally need all the sleep I can get as our nights are more rocky than rocky road! 

“Wow, you must be exhausted” was the response I received from my husband when I told him. Yes, too tired for ice cream is a perfect description of just how tired I am!

Wife and mother, x

One thought on “Too tired for ice cream?!

Leave a Reply

