Welcome to the world baby girl!

We have a beautiful new addition to our extended family and we have been desperate to meet her! So this week we went on a trip to see her and the new parents. We were really excited to see what our daughter would make of this tiny little baby, as although she has seen some young babies, she hasn’t really seen a newborn before.

It was so funny to see a newborn, even for us, you forget how tiny they are! Watching our daughter next to her made us realise that yes, she is definitely not a baby anymore and also just amazed that she was once that small! She looked huge by comparison. It was also funny to see parents back at the beginning journey, those first few weeks of finding your feet and adjusting to the change in sleep (or lack of). 

They were doing such a great job, they seemed relaxed and happy which was just lovely to see as we have been so excited for them. I would have loved a cuddle but hubby and I had agreed before we went that we wouldn’t overload the new arrival. We remembered what it was like at the start. A stream of visitors all desperate to have a hold (which is lovely, don’t get me wrong) but we also remember days where our child had been overwhelmed by all the new people and we had an awful nights sleep as a consequence. Now maybe that was just our experience but we had been warned of that very thing from our midwife and sure enough, it happened. Next time we go we will definitely accept a good cuddle though as she’ll be that bit further along and more used to the world. 

It was interesting seeing the baby for me as although I was so happy to meet her, I don’t think I felt broody… which is a completely new experience for me as before my daughter, all I could see were babies and I was desperate for my own. I decided that it probably answers the question of when we have our next child. Here my husband and I were planning age gaps but I think that I want to feel broody again. I want to feel that desperate desire for a baby so that if we are blessed with another then I am the most excited I could be for that new life. Not that I wouldn’t love another child if it were to happen now, as of course I would love my child. I suppose I’m saying I’d like to feel truly ready for another when we make that decision to try, rather than making it based on time. 

I’m probably getting ahead of myself though, our daughter is only a year old! Although I really liked realising just how content I am with our little family. Our special little unit. 

Wife and mother, x

Leave a Reply

