My baby is walking!

We have been so busy recently it’s been hard to find the time to do anything other than daily tasks but I am hoping things will settle down a bit again soon as I’m exhausted. So exhausted that I actually fell asleep putting our daughter to bed last night! I woke up a few hours later, in the dark, still not having had my dinner! Oh well, I guess these things happen…

In light of that I decided to have a quieter day today and rest as much as possible. So we spent the day doing a few household chores but mostly having a good old play together. All the toys were out, the room was in chaos but we had such a fun time together! Our daughters play has really developed again recently and changed now. She will properly make believe with you which I find so fascinating to watch. Cups of tea, pretend food, taking care of her dolly… It’s such a great new stage. I enjoyed the fact she got to burn off a lot of energy today, not that it helped her napping. In fact, she only napped a total of 15 minutes all day, which is just exhausting for both of us but we made it and have had a (planned) early night!

She has been very good at assisted walking with either a walker or a hand being held but she hadn’t quite decided to brave it alone until today. It took me completely by surprise, despite me having a feeling all day that she might try it. She was just seeming that bit more confident or daredevilish today. She was walking around the furniture and then all of a sudden, she let go and walked into the middle of the room! The utter joy from both of us was wonderful! Once she got so far she fell down and hasn’t been able to replicate it again yet, although it was very close to bedtime so there wasn’t much opportunity. It happened so quickly I didn’t have time to grab my camera but I’ll be ready tomorrow!

I still can’t believe she did it! I’m sad my husband missed it but I’m so happy that she felt confident enough to do it! There are so many precious moments. Some big, others small but truly moments to treasure!

Wife and mother, X

Leave a Reply

