Go mummy, go!

Well it has been 5 days since I decided to get rid of my mummy tummy and I am proud to say that I have gone for a run every day so far! Not only that but I managed  just over 4km in half an hour, which might seem nothing to many but is a huge achievement for a mummy that hasn’t exercised in years!

I downloaded an app which helps you go from nothing to 5k over an 8 week period. I have to say I like the fact it says things like “well done, you’re doing great” as who doesn’t want a little praise when getting back in the saddle?! It tracks my run and tells me the distance I have covered which is motivating in itself as I can already see and feel a difference in my stamina.

The only thing I would say, is that I am terrible at sticking to what it tells me to do… I did follow it the first day but I’m a little impatient so day 2 I just decided to do my own thing. I think I’ll still use it for now though as I know how long each section of running/walking is allocated during the half hour workout, so I have a pretty good idea of how much time is passing without looking at my phone. Add that along side the motivational speaker and tracking ability and I’m pretty happy. At least for now anyway. I’ll look into another app the fits my bill later.

I have also booked into two exercise classes; totally feeling the drive to do this if you couldn’t already tell! 

I intend on dropping the running to three times a week and have two classes a week for the next month or so and then I’ll reevaluate timings as my daughters activities will begin again. 

It’s great because not only can I run with my baby but one of my classes is designed to have baby there too! So I am actually only taking one hour out of the week away from my little one to do the other class. I’m not going to have to rely on my husband being home to do it either as granny will happily step in for an hours cuddle a week if he is away. It does mean I don’t have much of an excuse not to do my exercise plan though but that’s probably a good thing!

I’m not going to focus on the scales as this isn’t about weight, it is about making me feel confident in myself again. I’ll probably pop up some shots of before and “now” once I start seeing progress. Although I have to admit, I’m already feeling more positive if nothing else! 

Wife and mother, x

Leave a Reply

