11 months old!

I can’t believe my little girl is 11 months old today! I can see her learning and developing all the time which is pretty amazing, it’s so wonderful to watch. She is happily standing anywhere and everywhere now so I think it’s only a matter of time before she starts to walk. It’s so adorable watching her stand, she seems far too tiny to be doing such a big girl thing!

Although along with my daughter turning 11 months is the reality that I am now 11 months postpartum which made me give myself a bit of a shake today. I haven’t been happy with my stomach since I gave birth and I feel enough is enough!

I actually only put on a tiny bit weight during my pregnancy as I was very sick, so I think I almost assumed that between breastfeeding and being on my feet all day then my little mummy pouch (which is where I gained) would take care of itself. Well it hasn’t…infact I think I put on weight with extra snacking! There’s that whole attitude when presented with a snack of “well I’m breastfeeding…” Argh, why do I do it to myself? I am by no means saying you shouldn’t eat snacks while breastfeeding though as it’s so important to fuel yourself but I feel I took it a little too far and suddenly it was just an excuse to eat. 

Well no more! If I’m not happy about my stomach then only one person can fix it and that’s me!

I have downloaded a running app and agreed to join an exercise class with my sister. I felt there was no time like the present so off I went for a run today with the buggy and dog. It was actually surprising easy! Running with the pram and dog that is. It was day one of running, so I couldn’t expect to be back to my prepregnancy fitness right away but I’m sure I’ll get there!
I guess it’s just very on my mind that I want to be feeling good about myself before I plan on getting pregnant again. I’d like to feel confident and attractive which I just don’t at the moment. I also want to be the healthiest that I can be so some physical exercise would definitely help with that. I know I should love myself regardless and I generally do which is probably why it has taken me until now to do something about it.

Hopefully I’ll start feeling healthier and notice a difference soon! 

Wife and mother, x

Leave a Reply

