Lessons in the rain

I have to admit I am one of those people who likes a bit of rain. The warm bright sunny days are so enjoyable. Being able to spend all day outside doing activities that you wouldn’t dream of doing in the wet but when the light haze of rain dances in front of me and creates a blanket of tiny droplets over everything…well there is something pretty beautiful about that too.

Today we had a spell of rain which happened to time with our daily dog walk. Setting off dressed ready for the drizzle meant that I was able to just enjoy the time outside. It was as I was walking through the open countryside that I couldn’t help but feel this overwhelming sense of peace.

My head is normally busy, full of worries and problems as probably most people out there. Yet there was nothing. The still through the rain made me feel calm. I simply enjoyed this beautiful planet and all the wonderful things in it. The meandering stream that ran by me, knowing its direction. The grazing horses ahead, so strong and statuesque. The rain, falling steadily, gently and constant.

Perhaps the world was trying to tell me something today. To take a moment and take a breath. It is so easy to be swept up in the challenges we each face but standing in this wide open space, with nothing but wonder surrounding me, I can’t help but think that I could draw so much from the nature around me.

Like the stream I should be calm because even if my course is faltered, I know the direction I want to be going and so it doesn’t matter how I get there. To be strong like the horses and stay true to myself, while remembering to be still enough to listen to others. Then like the beautiful falling rain; to be gentle in life with myself and with others. To remember those who are constant and be thankful for them.

Wife and mother, x

 

Daily prompt – Open

2 thoughts on “Lessons in the rain

Leave a Reply

