Yet another reason I love breastfeeding!

The past 24 hours have not played out the way I was expecting. My husband and I had planned a trip to visit his parents and we were due to leave this morning. However life had other plans for us and we were abruptly woken in the early hours of the morning with a very sick child.

We thought we were past the worst of it when we got up for breakfast but we soon realised it wasn’t going to be that easy! It has been a long day with a clingy and not very happy little girl. Mummy is shattered!

The one thing that has seen us through this tough day is breastfeeding! My daughter is around about ten months old and we are still very happily breastfeeding. I don’t bother about how often or long she feeds for, so I find it difficult when people ask. All I know is breastfeeding works for me and my little girl.

With a quick phone call this morning, I was very pleased to be told to just breastfeed on demand as my milk would alter to help my child. Now as a pro breastfeeder (although also pro choice) I already knew that altering milk was one of the many benefits to breastfeeding but being reminded today, has just brought home yet again why I love breastfeeding so much. How amazing is the human body that we can tell our child is sick and produce more antibodies etc to pass on to our child so they might recover faster? Awesome, that’s what!!

So as you can imagine, little sleep was had last night and I am predicting another night of little to no sleep. Unfortunately these things happen and you just have to go with it. So our trip might be postponed and our daughter might not be so well for a few days but I am so incredibly happy that we have breastfeeding to see us through it!

Wife and mother, x

2 thoughts on “Yet another reason I love breastfeeding!

Leave a Reply

