My baby is on the move!

Probably like in most households with a young baby; the conversation of when our daughter might master crawling has come up more and more frequently over time. Watching our friends children who are already on the move and younger than our daughter has especially fueled this conversation as of late. Not that we felt it was a competition by any means. We have just felt this anticipation and excitement for the next stage.

Well today is the day! My beautiful baby crawled!

It took me a moment to realise that she was actually crawling this morning. She has been moving around for a couple of months now so I was used to seeing her try. Then all of a sudden I clocked that she really was crawling! I ran shouting to my husband to come quick and very typically of this day and age, grabbed my phone to record! To be able to capture and keep these precious moments are just wonderful!

I had brought out my laptop in anticipation for her nap as I find it is the best time to blog without interruption. She has become increasingly interested in it and the cable; in fact she loves most cables (oh dear). She just had to get her hands on the power pack and as I moved it out of reach she determinedly crawled forward! So I quickly unplugged it and moved it a little further, then further again and still she continued forward, still determined, with her little tongue sticking out. An unbelievably cute sight! She even did an almost excited little jump forward every now and then; obviously just as over the moon about moving as her mummy.

There is already no stopping her now that she has figured it out. It is incredible that once they have done it once then they can do it again so easily. By the time Daddy was in a position to come and see, she was off in any direction she chose and grabbing anything she wanted. I guess this is when the trouble begins!

I have a feeling that our dog is going to love this new stage too. They are already as thick as thieves so foresee a lot of mischief in our future. He loves to play with friends children who are on the move so I think he will enjoy having his very own playmate.

Children really are such a blessing. The amount of joy they bring you is just incredible. There is no other love or relationship like it. Watching my daughter find her stability on her hands and figure out how to get her little legs underneath her has just been amazing to watch. This steady development has been progressing over the last few months and I couldn’t be more thrilled that she has managed this milestone.

When I woke up there was a list of things to do as always but now the job which will be top of our list is making sure our lounge is completely baby proof before this little rascal gets into something she shouldn’t!

Wife and mother, x

Leave a Reply

